Indie Track Review: Airplane Primitive by The Slip

18 03 2007

Airplane Primitive/Saw it and thought it was some kind of bird

the-slip.jpg

Question: What do you get when you cross overwhelming melodies with subtle emotional effects?
Answer: Airplane-Primitive by The Slip

Get over banal rock that does nothing but flaunt pretty guitar hooks. I know I like that but there is a limit to everything. The Slip are here with their avant-garde yet sensible style of indie rock.

The Slip are two brothers and a mate:
Brother 1 – Andrew Barr (drums)
Brother 2 – Brad Barr (guitar/vocals)
Mate 1 – Marc Friedman (bass)

They are powerful with their melodies and even more powerful with the kind of rockstar-less aura that they have. How can they be such geniuses and yet be so laidback? There’s nothing pretentious here. Their latest album Eisenhower is a proof of that. Eisenhower is exactly the kind of music that made me get over my aversion towards blogging and spurred me towards writing about indie.

Airplane-Primitive is one of the most guitar-intensive tracks from Eisenhower. It is also one of the most guitar-intensive indie tracks I have heard in a long time. The six-stringed melody interlaced with cymbals and harmonica is what makes Airplane/Primitive such an overpowering tune. 7 minutes is too short a playtime for this song because by the time one absorbs all the melodies and discovers, leave alone comprehend, all the layers the song is already over. One has to hit replay.

Give the song a listen and I bet that by the time it ends, you’d be surprised that you spent your last seven minutes nodding your head to indie!

In case you agree/disagree, feel free to leave a comment on here.

Megha (Don’t watch Apocalypto)

Airplane/Primitive lyrics in case you are interested:

It’s the day before the rest of my life
And I feel like Dylan Thomas
Says my muse if you stay I’ll go
If I’m not lying I’m not being honest

It’d be the death of me to keep her pace
And my bride I haven’t even laid eyes on
But my ghosts they come to me these days
My companions from the day I was born

Airplane primitive
Saw it and thought it was some kind of bird
It landed, he made up his mind
Can’t, can’t live

Airplane primitive
Saw it and thought it was some kind of bird
It landed, he made up his mind
Can’t live knowing that there’s some other world

Well come with me on one last run
Then I swear I’ll join you in the sun

Airplane primitive
Saw it and thought it was some kind of bird
It landed, he made up his mind
Can’t live knowing that there’s some other world

Where men fly up in the sky
Strapped himself to the wing for a one way ride
And in the air, above a cloud
There his soul stayed when his body fell down.

Airplane primitive
Saw it and thought it was some kind of bird
It landed, he made up his mind
Can’t live knowing that there’s some other world

Where men fly up in the sky
Strapped himself to the wing for a one way ride
And in the air, above the clouds
There his soul stayed when his body fell down

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 04 2007
Andy Dodd

Do you know who Dylan Thomas is, and why he is referred to in this song?

4 04 2007
laidbackness

I know who Dylan Thomas is but I am not sure why he has been referred to in Air plane/Primitive. I was intrigued at first but then I felt contented in thinking that maybe the reference has got something to do with Dylan’s shaky marriage (Says my muse if you stay I’ll go) or the fact that he is dead. Just thinking out loud really.

7 04 2007
Andy Dodd

Would be nice to hear you thinking out loud more often! Ha ha. Reject that comment. It was just a joke.

Leave a Reply

