It’s like retro but the problem is… it shouldn’t be

26 02 2008

Containing much ranting, moaning and complaining

elevate dj suketu nightLoaded with expectation-plus, I went to see DJ Suketu play at one of the ‘best’ clubs of NCR last Saturday*.

My friend Ashish, who was here in Delhi on a flying visit from Mumbai, is a big fan of Suketu, and therefore, he thought it utmost important to make another friend’s and my attendance mandatory at the said event.

However after the first couple of minutes and intensive stare-downs from blinged-up and unattractively hirsute men, I knew it wasn’t going to be anything special.

My fears were confirmed when I realised the stuff being played by the opening DJ wasn’t doing anything to uplift my slowly waning (and massively-diluted) spirits. No, my ultra-OJ’d voddie wasn’t helping. I should have just decided to get high on, or at least hyper-active because of, all the sugar content present in my drink.

Drinks set aside, I really have to laud the efforts of the opening DJ. He tried his best to make sure we felt the benefit of Suketu. Sadly enough, Suketu was not taking any favours that night.

Now even though I am no fan of Bollywood vigorous-hip-gyrating style of music, I don’t mind it sometimes. Suketu happens to be the top DJ when it comes to this genre. From what I know, he has churned out some pretty decent remixes of otherwise dull filmi songs in the past.

After making people wait for about 1-2 hours, enters Suketu the club, tarries a while here and there, finally decides to get on the stage to shout out:

“Delhi people are you reaaady to rockkk…?”

“Err…yeah that will be nice seeing as it is past 1 already.”

“Okayyy!!!”

What ensued caused my heart to sink. I was almost in tears almost as soon as We Will Rock You thumps registered themselves in my mind. Whether it was because of feeling nostalgic or being in a lot of pain, I shall not venture to determine.

Adding to my frustration was the fact that while my eyes were welling up, other people were seemingly having a blast. They were lovin’ it. I know their secret though— party packs! Cheeky effers.

That night Suketu played arguably the worst ensemble of music ever. He played Bollywood stuff that even Bollywood does not like. Then there were remixes of emo wrist-slashing Hindi songs. Oh and then he time travelled some 20-30 years into the past. Totally retro without being retro. Nice effect.

I won’t say it was a night totally wasted. I mean when was the last time I partied like it was the 90s, except, of course, when it was the 90s?

Catching up with my school-time friend and meeting his friend was fun. By the end of the party, and after having sufficiently compensated for the lack of alcohol in our watery drinks by ordering more, all three of us were pretty much dancing to anything.

We stumbled out around 5 am, gorged on the most delectable food at the neighbouring posh restaurant, as we discussed weather and random socio-economic and life-death related topics. At least the end was good.
And no, Suketu is no good as far as I am concerned.

*Two weeks ago (Couldn’t finish writing the post in one week)

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 02 2008
It’s like retro…but it shouldn’t be

[…] Rocker Report wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptIt’s like retro…but it shouldn’t be 26 02 2008 Containing much ranting, moaning and complaining Loaded with expectation-plus, I went to see DJ Suketu play at one of the ‘best’ clubs of NCR last Saturday*. My friend Ashish, who was here in Delhi on a flying visit from Mumbai, is a big fan of Suketu, and therefore, he thought it utmost important to make another friend’s and my attendance mandatory at the said event. However after the first couple of minutes and intensive stare-downs from b […]

27 02 2008
Ashish

Hmmm – I’m sorry about the bad nite…He’s usually good 😉 yOu forgot about the complimentry dal makhani !!! Not to forget ” I can do it ” parts tooo….

Cheers
Asheyk

28 02 2008
Ashish

almost forgot – yOu d fun with the beer fuzz trick 😉

11 03 2008
Swapnil

“Err…yeah that will be nice seeing as it is past 1 already.”

Funny, real funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

